Saturday, February 4, 2012

How We Got to Andrew Churches's Bloom's Digital Taxonomy

Image from Andrew Churches

Bloom’s Taxonomy

In 1956, Benjamin Bloom, an educational psychologist wrote Taxonomy of Educational Objectives: The Classification of Educational Goals that described the six categories in the cognitive domain of learning. The cognitive domain categories were ordered from Lower Order Thinking Skills (LOTS) to Higher Order Thinking Skills (HOTS).

  • Knowledge

  • Comprehension

  • Application

  • Analysis

  • Synthesis

  • Evaluation (Highest Order Thinking)

Bloom’s Revised Taxonomy

However in 2001, Lorin Anderson and David R. Krathwohl published A Taxonomy for Learning, Teaching, and Assessing: A Revision of Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives that modified Bloom’s learning taxonomy. The two psychologists used verbs instead of nouns to name the different categories and resequenced them.

  • Remembering 

  • Understanding

  • Applying

  • Analysing

  • Evaulating

  • Creating (Highest Order Thinking)

Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy

The revised taxonomy was then applied to the new behaviors, skills, and experiences students encounter due to the rapid technological changes of our modern age. Andrew Churches developed Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy that added new digital verbs to each of the cognitive domain categories. I have taken Churches concept and added my own digital verbs to each domain.  

Click here to my own Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy. The icons don’t link you to the website yet but that will come soon!

Thursday, February 2, 2012

Tweets straight to your Facebook or Facebook Page!

Here is a website provides free installation of a Tweet tab for your Facebook or Facebook page. INVOLVER

Provides other applications that can be installed for Facebook tabs like YouTube.